Bauhaus Museum Dessau

Bauhaus Museum Dessau: A collaboration with addenda architects and Moritz Küng, Barcelona.
A photographic project by Joachim Brohm & Valentina Seidel 2017-2019*.

"Founded in 1919 by architect Walter Gropius as a school for interdisciplinary research and artistic experimentation, the Bauhaus was located in three different cities: Weimar (until 1925), Dessau (until 1931) and Berlin (until 1933). The school and its iconic building in Dessau somehow became a synonym for modernism and a melting pot for the avant-garde. Many visionary teachers (such as Josef Albers, Marcel Breuer, Johannes Itten, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Oskar Schlemmer and Mies van der Rohe) and students (such as Max Bill, Ernst Neufert, Lyonel Feininger and Wilhelm Wagenfeld) combined in an unprecedented way arts, crafts, dance, technology and architecture in order to radically rethink life and meet society’s needs. With the inauguration of the museum in 2019, one hundred years after the founding of the Bauhaus, Dessau will almost certainly make history once more... and will finally be able to display for the public its vast heritage of unique furniture, textiles, crafts, models and documents."
(Moritz Küng in 'Cahier 1', first in a series of special publications initiated by addenda architects, in conjunction with Joachim Brohm & Valentina Seidel and Moritz Küng, 2017)

Chicago Architecture Biennial, September 16, 2017 - January 7, 2018

*This selection of photographs is not final and subject to change anytime.

Loading more...